Halloween Fun

My kids have been looking forward to Halloween for many weeks. They planned and prepped for their costumes, choose pumpkins for carving, and waited anxiously for all that CANDY. The day was packed with lots of cuteness and fun.

We almost forgot about carving pumpkins but Jocelin remembered it yesterday. Now, I think you are supposed to plan ahead and not try to carve pumpkins the hour before you have to get costumed up – but we like to live on the wild side around here.

Honestly, I really wanted to skip the carving – I always think of the mess it will make and the time it will involve and it just seems like a lot of work. Thankfully, my sister called about the time we needed to get started on the pumpkins (she had carved 6 fantastic pumpkins the day before) and reminded me how much fun it would be. I know, I know – these activities are where memories are made and tradition is birthed – I know. So I sucked it up and had some fun, by golly.

At one point, I heard Mason  say, “This is such a fun Halloween.” Just because we were carving pumpkins. Note to self – don’t be the fun-sucker!

So in an hour’s time, we carved up two pumpkins. Daddy cut them open and Jocelin and I cleaned them out because the boys thought it was too gross. Jocelin and I discussed how strange it was that they can shoot rabbits and birds and deal with all that grossness, but pumpkin seeds and slimy pulp are too much for them.  They both watched us with the funniest “eew” faces!

Jocelin and Mason drew their designs

Jocelin's

 

Mason's

Daddy did the carving while I toasted the pumpkin seeds, that burned, sadly – 30 minutes of time well spent!

The super-cute finished Jack-o-lanterns

And now, introducing the Graham Fam Trick-or-Treaters

Jocelin – a lovely mermaid (Thank you Nana for making a great costume)

She wanted to pose

and she was very happy that it was “legal” to wear make-up in public

Mason – a fierce Ninja (Thank you Nana for buying the Karate costume)

The complete costume which only lasted for pictures (note the HI-YA motion):

Brooklyn – an adorable Tinkerbell

(Provided by Nana also. I promise, I didn’t ask her for any of these. She offered them from her personal dress-up selection and told Jocelin she would make hers. We are so grateful for Nana!!!)

Did I mention how adorable she is?

Brooklyn’s experience with Halloween was so cute. We had already received treats from Nana (again – thanks to Nana-extraordinaire), and Brooklyn thought that going trick-or-treating meant that she had to take the candy she already had and give it to her friends. She was a little reluctant to that concept, but actually would have done it!

Brooklyn trick-or-treated right alongside the big kids – she was about a house behind, but she climbed many a step to fill her bucket.

After trick-or-treating, we were at a friends house so the kids were a little more unsupervised then they would have been at home with their buckets of candy. I first ran into Brooklyn with a big tootsie-pop in her mouth which she quickly explained, “I accidentally ate this.”

Later, I found her again, with another tootsie-pop and said that sucker had to be her last. As we were gathering up to head home, she came to me again – this time with a dum-dum in her mouth and another sucker in hand. Wow Brooklyn, you must love suckers.  I later realized that the suckers were probably the only candy she could open herself!!

Emerson – a sweet Bunny

I made this costume when Jocelin was a baby and all three girls have worn it now!

(our cute friend in the background)

Emerson was especially clingly last night so I couldn’t get one picture of her where she wasn’t frowning.

These pictures are probably cuter than if she was smiling!

Happy Halloween Emerson

I even tried to take one this morning – just to get a smiling picture for her picture album

Well, I’ll have to wash it and give it another try with the smile. At least I got a picture of the cute tail:

Even though Emerson doesn’t show it, we have a wonderful evening – lots of fun and candy!

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janae
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 15:35:12

    The kids are all so cute Shawn! Mattie was a princess and acted just like one all night. She was so sweet and mannerly that I may dress her like that always when we have to go out in public!

    Reply

  2. Jan Pendergraft
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 17:06:36

    Is it ok if I share your blog address with my parenting class at CWJC? Good info for them MOM

    Reply

  3. Don Shrum
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 17:18:32

    Hi Shawn,

    I love your blog. I read the two most recent entries and then looked at all the pictures. What a fantastic job you are doing!!! Question: When do you find time to do this and take care of four children????

    Love, hugs, and blessings to you all.

    Uncle Don

    Reply

    • shawnmelanie
      Nov 01, 2010 @ 19:37:00

      Hey Uncle Don! Glad you are getting to keep up with us via the blog-world. Answer: still trying to find the balance of blogging and taking care of my world. I use early mornings and naps as much as possible!

      Reply

  4. Tamra
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 18:10:41

    Shawn, how fun!! I remember that little bunny. It has been around for a while. I’m proud of you for carving pumpkins. This is the first year I have “not mentioned it” around the kids and made it without having to do it. Now I feel bad 😦

    Reply

  5. Amy Wright
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 21:28:06

    Those are some super duper shiny pumpkins. And I must say that they look MUCH better than the one I carved for Josiah.
    The kids all look so sweet. I love Brooklyn’s “I accidentally at this.” story. haha All of your kids have Bradley’s eyes, but Brooklyn really has them.

    Reply

  6. Jana Kelley
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 13:55:39

    Fun times Graham-style! I like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Parenting Categories